

# NATIONAL CONFERENCE OF STATE TRANSPORTATION SPECIALISTS

# CONSTITUTION

#### I. NAME

The name of this Conference shall be National Conference of State Transportation Specialists.

#### **II.OBJECT**

The object of this Conference shall be to promote, in the public interest, effective and fair regulation of the safety, services, operations and practices of the various modes of transportation under the jurisdiction of the states. This shall be accomplished through the study and discussion of transportation regulation issues, the exchange of pertinent data, information and experiences; and the consideration of important trends and developments in transportation.

#### III. MEMBERSHIP

The membership shall include personnel engaged in transportation regulation, planning, or policy development employed by each state or the federal government.

Each state represented shall be entitled to only one vote on Conference matters.

#### **IV. OFFICERS**

The conference shall have a President, Vice President, Secretary, and Treasurer to be chosen from membership of the Conference. The election of officers shall take place during each annual meeting.

The President, Vice President and Secretary shall hold office from the close of the annual meeting at which they are elected until the close of the next annual meeting and until their successors are chosen, except that, if any officer ceases to be an active member, that office shall immediately become vacant. If the office of President becomes vacant, the Vice President shall automatically become President. Any vacancy in any office shall be filled for the remainder of the unexpired term by appointment of the President from membership of the Conference.

The Treasurer shall be selected from membership of the Conference by the Executive Committee. The Treasurer shall hold a term of three years, not to exceed two consecutive terms. A vacancy in the

Treasurer office shall be filled for the remainder of the unexpired term by appointment of the President from membership of the Conference.

The officers, except as their powers and duties are elsewhere stated in this Constitution, shall exercise the powers and the duties ordinarily devolving upon such officers in similar organizations.

# V. COMMITTEES

There shall by only one standing committee and that shall be the Executive Committee. However, special committees may be appointed when authorized by vote of the Conference or when the President decides that a special occasion exists and a majority of the Executive Committee agrees.

The Executive Committee consists of the President, Vice President, Secretary, Treasurer, nine members elected from the states, and members to be appointed from federal agencies by the Executive Committee. Members shall be elected annually for a term of one-year immediately following the annual election of officers. In addition, all past Presidents of the Conference are members of the committee as long as they remain members of the Conference and may vote as provided in Section III. Vacancies in the elected membership of the Executive Committee shall be filled for the remainder of the unexpired term by appointment by the President from the membership of the Conference. The President is Chair of the Executive Committee and the Secretary of the Conference shall serve as Secretary. Only state members can vote. The President may vote only to break a tie.

The Executive Committee shall be in general charge of the affairs of the Conference between meetings of the membership with full power to speak and act for the Conference on all matter pertinent to the objects of the Conference. Any resolution offered for adoption at any meeting of the membership, pertaining to a question of policy, shall be referred to and be considered by the Executive Committee and its recommendation shall be submitted to the membership before the resolution is brought on the vote.

# **VI. MEETINGS**

The annual meeting shall be held at a time and place to be selected by the Executive Committee. If in any year it appears to the Executive Committee that the annual meeting of the Conference for that year should be omitted, the committee, by the affirmative vote of at least eight members, shall have

authority to omit that meeting. If any annual meeting is omitted, the officers and committee members shall continue in their respective positions until the next succeeding annual meeting.

At any annual meeting, representatives from fifteen member states shall constitute a quorum for the transaction of business. All conference matters requiring a vote, other than amending the Constitution shall be decided by majority vote.

# **VII. AMENDMENTS**

The Constitution may be amended at any annual meeting of the Conference by a two-thirds vote of the qualified voters present and voting.

## VIII. DISSOLUTION

In the event that the Association dissolves, any assets held in its treasury shall be distributed to one or more exempt purposes within the meaning of section 501 (C) (3) of the Internal Revenue Code, or the corresponding section of any future federal tax code, or shall be distributed to the Federal Government, or to a State or Local Government, for a public purpose.

This Constitution represents the formation of the National Conference of State Transportation Specialists.

# Updated June 7, 2016

• Removed "The Treasurer shall be domiciled in a state where a banking institution utilized by the Conference is located" from the Treasurer requirements.

## Updated June 10, 2014

- Modified term and responsibilities of Treasurer.
- Modified the number of executive committee members from 11 to nine.
- Modified the number of affirmative votes to omit an annual meeting from ten to eight.